I did it. I gave into that impulse buy at Target today. Doesn’t everyone say that you go into Target for one thing and come out with 20? Well, I managed to keep my item count under 20, but I did give in to a childhood moment and bought chocolate Hostess Cupcakes and Twinkies. My excuse is that my youngest daughter who is 6 has never had a Twinkie. I can’t be responsible for letting her grow up without ever trying a Twinkie! So I bought her one. But then there were the chocolate cupcakes sitting right next to the Twinkies… my mind drifted off to long driving trips and boring evenings in a Motel 6 room with my parents. My only saving grace was the evening snack I sometimes got: Chocolate Hostess Cupcakes. I don’t think I’ve had one since I was maybe 12. And guess what? They are still as good as they were over 20 years ago! Here are some inciting photos in case you’ve forgotten about the packaged yummy goodness.

Another interesting tidbit is that apparently Twinkies have been the source of controversy in regards to their shelf life. Some have reported that Twinkies are edible from anywhere from 50-150 years and that their shelf life may be in the range of 5-40 years. Other reports note that they are made with a chemical used in embalming fluid. Well these all seem like very unlikely facts. Check out snopes.com to verify whether or not any of this is true.

http://www.snopes.com/food/ingredient/twinkies.asp

Or maybe I need to spend a little more time researching and attempt to “triangulate” the story as Rheingold suggests. What myths, urban legends, or other suspect stories have you run across on the internet?

